TheSportyGirl's Blog











{September 6, 2011}   2011 Predictions

2011 Predictions

It took me a long time to get here, but here they are The Sporty Girls 2011 Predictions! Not as confident as last years Green Bay pick, However I believe with the lockout it is truly hard to believe fully in any picks! Love it or Hate it, as always feel free to comment.

AFC East

New England Patriots- 13-3-The Patriots have proven that they can win regular season games; the problem has been the post season. I do not see this changing, while they have a weak schedule despite what some analyst say. Playing the AFC west when it is pretty unpredictable and weak is not a big challenge for a Patriots team that is used to winning.

New York Jets-12-4- The Jets have the same AFC west schedule to play. However, the Jets are often more vulnerable in the regular season. I think that they will improve on last year’s record with veteran players joining the offense I believe that Mark Sanchez will be able to grow.

Miami Dolphins-6-10-I was surprised that I had them above the Bills myself. I do not have faith in this year’s fins team with the loss of both backs and the QB situation still very questionable. However, with talent like Brandon Marshall I still believe they can pick of a few wins. They usually surprise people by beating the big guys.

Buffalo-4-12-I want to like the Bills; however, I am not sold on Fitzpatrick nor am I sold on their defense minus Posluszny. They had some close games last season but were unable to finish. I could see some surprising wins but I do not think this is the year for the Bills to get out of their funk.

 

AFC North

Baltimore Ravens- 13-3-Everyone is high on the Steelers, but I am high on the Ravens. I like the way they play. Adding Ricky Williams to the backfield may diminish Ray Rice’s TD count but can only help improve the offense. In addition, you can’t say their defense isn’t good.

Pittsburgh Steelers-12-4- So they were in the SuperBowl last year….it doesn’t mean they will do it again this year. I am not saying that the Steelers aren’t talented but I do not think they made great improvements to make as big of a statement some are predicting….winning record and Playoffs? Yes! Superbowl bound? No!

Cleveland Browns-5-11-Rebuilding year for the Browns. I believe that Hillis will not live down the Madden curse, he should have rallied for Vick to win that contest. However, I think Colt will make some great strides to make his mark.

Cincinnati Bengals-2-14-To be honest I would not be surprised to see them with only one win. This team is a mess and they did nothing to try to clean it up. Andy Dalton isn’t the saving grace, and he has no one to throw it to anyways. Benson with his off field issues may not help, I have yet to hear of any suspensions.

 

AFC South

Houston Texans-10-6- Now this is based off the moves that were made in the off season and with a new DC and Jonathan Joseph I think they will have a better chance of actually reaching their potential. I think that if Schaub is on then they will win this division but barely. If not Kubiak’s job should be gone!

Indianapolis Colts-10-6- The uncertainty of Manning and the depletion of some defensive players, I just don’t know if the Colts can make their 10th straight playoff appearance. However, if anyone can bring their team into the playoffs it would be Manning. Not only that the SuperBowl is in Indy this year which is going to be a curse. I think it will be close but I am going to take a risk and give the Texans the edge.

Jacksonville Jaguars-6-10- The Jags have some talent in their arsenal, they did lose Mike Sims-Walker, but I think they have nice prospects for the future. Up until this week I thought that they may end up at or just above .500. However, cutting Garrard this late in the game makes me think that they are really looking at a rebuilding year.

Tennessee Titans-6-10-Not even the power of CJ2K can help this team this year. I think that Locker has the talent and learning with Hasselbeck will not hurt him. However, they lost a power player on defense in Tulloch. I just do not see many wins in their future, but they do have the talent to surprise people.

 

AFC West

San Diego Chargers-10-6- Every year someone predicts the Chargers to win the SuperBowl, yet every year that someone has been wrong. To be honest I don’t see this year as any different. They were able to add to their defense but with the loss of Sproles and a still yet unproven Matthews I do not believe. They have talent but this year I think they get back on top of the division but they move no further.

Kansas City Chiefs-8-8- Last year the playoff Chiefs had a very light schedule, this year they have a little more difficulty. Their offense still has a great running tandem in Charles and Jones, but Cassel still remains unproven. I think their lack of big play makers on defense gives them a mediocre year.

Oakland Raiders-6-10- Pryor was told her couldn’t wear his #2 jersey after being taken in the supplemental draft. The shadow of Jamarcus Russell still looms in Oakland. Campbell is the starter though and while I think he can play the offense is really going to rely on the strength of Darren Mcfadden who has been just begging for THE breakout season. Don’t be surprised when they win but just don’t expect that many of them. They still have work to do.

Denver Broncos-4-12- Orton, Tebow, Quinn, Weber? I know technically Orton has the starting job but I wouldn’t be surprised to see a lot of movement during the season at this position. The new rule is the 3rd QB playing doesn’t negate the 1st two coming back. This team is going to be a lost cause even with a defense that can make plays.

 

NFC East

Philadelphia Eagles-12-4- There seems to be people all over the place on this one. There are some that predict no improvement over last years 10-6 while some think they will win everything. I personally think they will improve over last year. Their main concern should be Vick, he’s worth a lot of a money now and he needs to stop making risks on every play. They have a good running back in McCoy let him do the running! But if they can stay healthy I think they will have a first round bye.

Dallas Cowboys-9-7- I believe the Cowboys will make up for their disastrous year last year and will probably just miss the playoffs. I think the decision to bring in Rob Ryan will help their defense and they may surprise many people. However, I am not convinced with their running game, and think that it will be another year for Cowboy fans to see their team in the playoffs.

New York Giants-8-8-The Giants preseason has not been good for them and unfortunately, I don’t see things getting much better. Watching Manning in the preseason has not impressed me. They have talent in their wide receiver core, but I think the defense is going to bring them down.

Washington Redskins-4-12-I think counting four games may be giving them more than they can take. There is so much wrong going on in Washington I don’t think they can go right. They have some star players on defense but as a whole they ranked 31st last year. I don’t know why they didn’t pick up a QB in the draft but they may as well throw their hat into the Luck circus for next year.

 

NFC North

Green Bay Packers-13-3-The reigning SuperBowl champs have probably one of the best chances of repeating that I have seen in a long time. They not only have most of their players coming back, they have previously IR’d players back to play. I think this year they will easily take their division.

Detroit Lions-10-6- Here is one of my wild cards for the year. But this only happens if Stafford stays healthy, in a recent poll of who is the best QB from the 09’ draft Stafford topped the list. However, I can’t say the same at this point I would take Sanchez or Freeman over him. The reason? Stafford is too injury plagued! The Lions will not succeed without the offense to go along with what may end of being the best defense with the addition of Tulloch.

Chicago Bears-9-7- I think the Bears will miss out on the playoffs this year after a good run last year. I do not think they have the steam to get through it. Plus I do not think the issues on the O-line have been resolved. In addition, I do not know where Cutler’s mind will be this season.

Minnesota Vikings-5-11- AP may be the #1 back to most people, however I wasn’t impressed with what I saw last year. This will also be the make or break year for Donovan Mcnabb, if he can’t make the plays needed he will not start again in this league. Because of the problems they have carrying over from last year I just don’t see a lot of wins for them.

 

NFC South

Atlanta Falcons-14-2- Here’s the thing this is a team that does not get the respect it deserves. They have been in the Saints shadow and under the radar the last couple of years. They not only had the second best record last year they were the #1 seed in the NFC. How people forget! I think they will be the team to beat in the NFC and I can see them doing great things.

New Orleans Saints-12-4- It is not as if I do not see the Saints doing well, they just happened to be in the same division as the Falcons. In any other division, they would win it and have a home game. However again I believe that they will be on the road for wild card weekend.

Tampa Bay Buccaneers-9-7-I like the Bucs and I think they will be a team to beat eventually. However, they are at a disadvantage having to play two of the best teams in the NFC twice a year. I just don’t think this is their year and they will be where they were last year knocking on the playoffs door.

Carolina Panthers-3-13- They have their QB, but I remember last year. I do not think they have made enough changes in order to dig themselves out of the losing whole. Not only that, their division is tough to compete against. I liked to say good things are coming but I do not see anything for quite a few years.

 

NFC West

St Louis Rams-9-7- I still think that the NFC west will be the weakest division in the league. However, I think the improvements that the Rams made will put them on top. It will be interesting to see how the young Bradford will work out with some new offensive weapons.

Arizona Cardinals-8-8- Some people don’t think that Kolb is the solution. However, I think that his talent is apart of it. Many things need fixing like their running back situation. Letting go of Hightower is something I believe they will regret this year. Having someone that can throw to Fitz does make up for it. I think that they have a mediocre year.

Seattle Seahawks-4-12- umm…..remember last year? The first team to get to the playoffs with a losing record! I don’t think that will happen this year unless all the teams in the division have a complete meltdown. They gain Sidney Rice a player who has the potential to be a top 5 WR, but they have Tavaris Jackson throwing to him. Something doesn’t quite fit here and I think we will see it in the record at the end of the year.

San Francisco 49ers-3-13- I have said it since they hired Harbaugh, The Niners are going to lose a lot this year. Is it because Harbaugh was a bad choice? No, of course not I was all for the hiring. However, I knew that as soon as they hired him and Luck conveniently opting to stay for his senior season that Luck was in the Niners view. I believe that they will grab him come April.

 

Playoffs

Wild Card Round AFC

Pittsburgh Steelers @ San Diego Chargers – Steelers win

New York Jets @ Houston Texans- Jets win

 

Wild Card Round NFC

Detroit Lions @ Philadelphia Eagles- Eagles win

New Orleans Saints @ St Louis Rams-Saints Win

Divisional Playoffs AFC

New York Jets @ New England Patriots- Jets win

Pittsburgh Steelers @ Baltimore Ravens-Ravens win

 

Divisional Playoffs NFC

Philadelphia Eagles @ Green Bay Packers –Packers win

New Orleans Saints @ Atlanta Falcons- Falcons win

 

Conference Championship

Green Bay Packers @ Atlanta Falcons-Atlanta Falcons

New York Jets @ Baltimore Ravens- Baltimore Ravens

 

Superbowl

Baltimore Ravens V. Atlanta Falcons- Falcons win

Leave a Reply

et cetera
